The CoachAccountable Blog

Master CoachAccountable and become the best dang coach you can be. Also, news.

Delightful Collaboration XI: Client Present Mode

It’s been a while since I’ve written up an entry in the Delightful Collaboration series.  Though it may look like it’s only the 11th time (judging by the roman numeral above), acting on the input of our community to make CA better happens roughly once a week!

This one comes from Michiel Bosman of Open Forest Evidence-Based Online Coaching.  He wrote:

I am probably asking for the impossible, but this is very important to me from a privacy/NDA standpoint: I do a lot of CA screen sharing with my clients.

I would love to have a Single Client Mode: I click a checkbox, system will not show anything related to any other client, until I click that checkbox again.

This immediately jumped out at me as interesting.  CoachAccountable has always had the power to serve as a de facto shared, virtual workspace between coach and client.  Coach sharing his or her screen with client (or vice-versa) is a powerful way to invite structured collaboration (e.g. during a session, when actions are being planned, insights are being captured, and so forth).

But I really appreciate the abundance of caution that this request entails.  Indeed, when it’s coach doing the screen sharing, well, there’s a LOT of other data that coach can bring up with a click or two (a convenience that is quite intentional!), yet much of it is data that’s NOT suitable for a given client to see.

So I get the desire for a sort of “single client mode”: that power to accidentally wander over into another part of the system not meant for a client’s eyes could make the prospect of sharing your screen nerve wracking.

We’re always keen to make CA more thoroughly accommodating to expectations of privacy and confidentiality, for they are expectations that such sensitive work truly merits.  To that end, I present to Michiel and the rest of the CA community what we call “Client Present Mode”.

Client Present Mode is a mode you can activate when viewing a given Client Page1.

You’ll find the toggle button for it by hovering your mouse over the very bottom region of the left sidebar of a given client page. (On a touch device, simply tap in that bottom region to reveal it.)

Toggle Client Present Mode

Move your mouse on down to that bottom portion of the left sidebar, and the toggle button appears.

Activating Client Present Mode hides the following:

  • navigation links,
  • the top client search,
  • private items,
  • private comments,
  • private side notes,
  • other pages (if visited),
  • and other distractions.

Generally speaking, it makes everything in your CoachAccountable browser window appropriate for your client to see in a screen sharing scenario.

Client Present Mode - active

It even hides those little light bulb icons, because you’re PROBABLY not meaning to peruse the help articles while working with your client. :)

If you hit the browser back button or reload the page?  Things remain appropriately locked, until you exit present mode.  Instead of seeing any potentially sensitive content, you’ll see this:

Client Present Mode Content Lock

Tough but fair.

And that’s all there is to it!  Client Present Mode makes it so you can confidently share your screen with your client (whether or not you post non-shared-with-client content), AND eliminates the possibility of accidentally showing a client the wrong thing through accidental navigation.

I’m excited for how this makes in-app collaborative work with clients more universally appropriate, and what that will enable coaches to bring through co-creation of insights and steps to move forward.  Thanks Michiel for putting this on our radar!

Note:

  1. Fun fact: there’s a little double entendre in the word “Present” in this context: is it present (pri-ˈzent) the verb, as in presenting to your client?  Or is it present (ˈpre-zᵊnt), the adjective, referring to the client is present? Yes. :)


10 Comments »

  1. Twila

    This is great! Now we can also use the interactivity of sharing the screen with the client as well as sharing the mouse so they can interact on the site at the same time. This is like a dream come true for our second session with all clients!
    Thanks so very much!.
    Twila

    April 17, 2021 @ 6:53 pm

  2. John

    Ah, nice! I hadn’t thought about that possibility, letting the client drive during a screen share, but yes: that’s a lovely way to get them to more thoroughly generate their participation (always a powerful thing!) and I see how this feature makes that newly practical.

    April 18, 2021 @ 9:34 am

  3. Morgan

    Hi Twila,

    We love hearing that this is a dream come true! Hooray!

    April 18, 2021 @ 10:28 am

  4. Jowanna Daley

    This is awesome! I’m always opening up multi-windows, so that client information is not shared. It would also be great to hide or blur the landing page with all the clients’ information for navigating through a demo.

    Big win!

    April 20, 2021 @ 12:54 pm

  5. Karsten Alva

    Thanks this is really helpful and elegant. Thank you.

    April 20, 2021 @ 2:49 pm

  6. Morgan

    Jowanna – That’s exactly what this little feature does :) You can’t even get to the landing page with all the clients’ information when using this, so there’s no risk of that showing!

    April 20, 2021 @ 2:53 pm

  7. John Kenworthy

    Well thank you. I didn’t even realise how much I needed this feature. Gosh I love this CA community.

    April 20, 2021 @ 11:43 pm

  8. Kissy Naude

    This is awesome! I always worry about my confidentiality when I have to screen share on CA. Thank you!

    April 21, 2021 @ 3:28 am

  9. Tim Smith

    Thanks John for this awesome feature!!

    -Coach Tim

    April 22, 2021 @ 11:19 am

  10. Sho

    Awesome! It is great to see how fast you are able to implement some high impact changes,John!

    May 7, 2021 @ 12:37 pm

Add to the conversation