The CoachAccountable Blog

Master CoachAccountable and become the best dang coach you can be. Also, news.

Enabling Continued Access for Your Past Clients

Though not a hard rule it generally holds that, sooner or later, all coaching relationships come to an end.

When you’re done working with your client, you can deactivate them in CoachAccountable so that they no longer count towards your subscription plan.  This means they’ll no longer have any interactions with the system, BUT all of their data remains intact, ready for you to reference at any time AND ripe for picking up where you left off, should they ever come back to resume working with you.

It’s nice to give clients a souvenir of their time spent working with you.  The record of notes and accomplishments serves as a handy treasure trove of insights, and a compelling reminder of what they got out of working with you.

For years the Client Export file has been a nice, portable record that you could generate and send to your clients whenever you like, and moreover makes a fitting parting gift when the work is done.

But for those clients who are wrapping up this segment of work with you, you can do them one better in addition to that parting gift: you can keep your relationship with those parted clients a little more alive by enabling continued access to their CoachAccountable client portal with you, and do so WITHOUT having those no-longer-active clients count towards your subscription plan.

Granting your deactivated clients read-only access to their account is a snap.

When you first deactivate a client, do so as usual from their Client Manager with a click of a button (or two, when you need to confirm that it’s okay to clear out things that would naturally no longer apply, such as future appointments!).

Deactivating an Inactive Client

The system will kindly alert you to what, if anything, will be cleared away as part of the deactivating.

Upon deactivation, you’ll be given the option to grant read-only access:

Option to grant read-only access

Aye, she might indeed like that!

Inactive clients who have is special access are noted as such in your Inactive client listing:

Inactive client listing shows who retains access

Note the friendly purple “access” sash in the upper right corner.

Finally, you can toggle this access on or off for any of your clients whenever you like by revisiting the Delete/Reactivate section of the client manager:

Toggle read-only access for an inactive client

Either way, it’s just as simple as flipping the switch!

Simple as that!  Inactive clients who are granted access in this manner are able to log in as usual, only the Overview tab will be gone and most all of the interactive elements will be removed (for example, no + buttons for adding things like Actions or Appointments).

Client's View when Inactive

There are two exceptions to this “removal of interactive elements” rule.

First, they’ll still be able to click that little email icon next to your head shot in the upper left, meaning it will be easy for them to drop you a line if and when they’re keen to resume working with you.

Second, IF you’ve setup one or more Offering Collections for in-app display, they’ll find those under their top right user menu.  This gives them an easy way to reengage with your services if they feel inspired to do so.  Signing up for/purchasing one of your Offerings in this manner will automatically reactivate their account, granting them once again full privileges of using the system.

And that’s all there is to it!  Granting your past clients read-only access in this way is great for several reasons, including:

  • Your past clients get to retain live access to all the records of the work they’ve done with you.
  • You can make it easy for past clients to resume working with you in a completely self-service way.
  • You can easily view which among your past clients have logged in recently (just sort by last login date), giving you clues as to who might enjoy a friendly hello.
  • You can offer programs that boast “lifetime access” beyond the initial, more hands-on portions.

Enjoy!

9 Comments »

  1. William Makell Jr. said,

    August 5, 2020 @ 9:44 pm

    John,

    Thank you so much for offering this capability. My clients will love this option and this will definitely help my business by keeping me top of mind with past clients.

    William

  2. John said,

    August 6, 2020 @ 8:16 am

    Hi William,

    You’re most welcome! And yes, I think you nailed it by your observation that this will keep you more top of mind with past clients. :)

  3. Jowanna Daley said,

    August 6, 2020 @ 8:33 am

    This is a great feature! Thank you!

  4. David Baumgartner said,

    August 6, 2020 @ 9:36 am

    That is great feature; thank you. I’m new to CA and continue to get more impressed.

  5. Debra Wilson Guttas said,

    August 7, 2020 @ 12:24 pm

    Thank you, John! I have been asked by clients if they would be able to access their courses, etc.

    Will this also enable us to email them from within the system re: a new offering?

  6. Anthony Shuster said,

    August 8, 2020 @ 3:20 am

    Thanks John, this is extremely useful, as most of my clients continue to use my practice guides and videos after our courses are finished

  7. John said,

    August 9, 2020 @ 11:08 am

    Thanks Jowanna, David, and Anothony… I’m glad to know this feature is a hit!

    And Debra, to your question: enabling you guys to email your inactive clients (so as to notify them about things like new offerings) is a fine idea.

    That wasn’t a thing before, but I’ve just added it! :)

  8. Alex Kurm said,

    August 12, 2020 @ 3:56 pm

    Hi John,
    Great feature! Question – similar to Debra’s. If I deactivate a client, but want them to have access to the training videos/content that they experienced during my coaching relationship, would this feature allow them to continue access to that content?

  9. John said,

    August 12, 2020 @ 4:37 pm

    Hi Alex,

    Yep! Access to whatever work they did with you in the past (including whatever content you shared with them) is exactly what this enables. :)

Leave a Comment